About Our Trust

Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust was established on December 1st 2007 under the National Health Service (NHS) Act 2006. In October 2010, the Trust was awarded Teaching Hospitals status and changed its named to Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in recognition of this. On 1st April 2012, the Trust merged with the community health services of the former NHS Blackpool and NHS North Lancashire.

On 20th March 2017, the Trust’s subsidiary company BFW Management Limited began trading to provide the Trust’s estates services.

The Trust is situated on the west coast of Lancashire and operates within a regional health economy catchment area that spans Lancashire and South Cumbria, supporting a population of 1.6 million. The Trust is a provider of specialist tertiary care for cardiac and haematology services across this region. The Trust does not operate outside of the United Kingdom.

The Trust provides a range of acute services to the 330,000 population of the Fylde coast health economy and the estimated 11 million visitors to the seaside town of Blackpool. Since 1st April 2012, the  Trust also provides a wide range of community health services to the 445,000 residents of Blackpool, Fylde, Wyre and North Lancashire.

The Trust also hosts the National Artificial Eye Service, which provides services across England.

During 2017/18, the Trust services have been provided from the following main sites:

  • Blackpool Victoria Hospital;
  • Clifton Hospital;
  • Fleetwood Hospital.

Five Year Strategy

Annual Plan

Annual Report and Accounts/Quality Report

Annual Report Summary

Code of Conduct

Code of Governance

Corporate Objectives

Standing Financial Instructions


Terms of Reference

Trust Constitution