Join in our Celebrating Success staff awards

Friends, family and patients have the opportunity to join in celebrations at the Blackpool Teaching Hospitals annual staff awards next Thursday (16 March).

For the second year, the annual Celebrating Success awards will be broadcast live online.

Ten awards will be made to individuals and teams from across the Trust including the winner of the People’s Health Hero Award which was selected from nominations made by members of the public.

We will also be revealing which colleague has been honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for an exceptional contribution to the Trust over more than 20 years.

The awards will be hosted by Kila Redfearn, Head of Charity at Blue Skies Hospital Fund, and opened by Trust chief executive Trish Armstrong-Child.

The event starts at 7pm and anyone can watch by joining online using this link.

These are the nominations and the order in which the awards will be made:

Chief Executive’s Unsung Hero Award

  • Ismail Dalal (Paediatric Diabetes Lead Nurse)
  • Dr Gareth Hardy(Consultant)
  • Carole Murphy(Ward Manager, Surgical Assessment Unit)

Non-clinical Team of the Year

  • Cancer Services
  • Community Education Sexual Health Team
  • Discharge Facilitators

Clinical Team of the Year

  • Central West Community Therapy Team
  • Dermatology Team
  • Same Day Emergency Care team

Compassion in Action Award

  • Julie Lucas (Head and Neck Cancer Support Worker)
  • Louise Smith (Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Heart Failure Team)
  • Laura Walsh (Swan Bereavement Midwife)

Research, Quality and Innovation Award

  • Bladder and Bowel Team
  • Children’s Speech and Language Service
  • Medchart Team

Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Steve Dyson
  • Catherine Harrington
  • Susan Lawler

Learner of the Year Award

  • Holly Andersen (Physiotherapy Technical Instructor)
  • Sarah Dickinson (ADAS Medical Laboratory Assistant Team Leader)
  • Victoria Knowles (Staff Nurse)

Rising Star Award

  • Maxine Rossall (Ward manager, Same Day Emergency Care unit)
  • Candice Tugwell (Community Staff Nurse)
  • Laura Walsh (Swan Bereavement Midwife)

People’s Health Hero

  • Lucy Cardwell (Advanced Care Practitioner)
  • Dr Anthony Kearns (ED consultant)
  • Pete Whiteside (ED technician)
Posted in Home Page, Press Releases.