Healthy Eating

Eating a healthy, balanced diet is an important part of maintaining good health

School nurses can offer advice on healthy eating and support you if you are concerned about your diet, eating patterns and your weight. We need a balance of different types of food – across the five food groups – to keep us healthy.

The Five Food Groups:

1. Carbohydrates

These are pasta, grains, bread, potatoes and some pulses

2. Fats

Although too much fat is bad for us, some fats are important to a healthy diet. Plant fats such as peanut butter, avocado and coconut are lower in cholesterol and considered better for us than animal fats from meat or dairy.

3. Protein
Protein is found in meat, fish, dairy, soya products (such as tofu), pulses and beans and to a lesser extent in some grains such as quinoa. Protein is very important for fuelling our bodies, especially for building muscle and many people who exercise regularly try to add more protein to their diet.

 4. Dairy and dairy alternatives
Dairy foods are eggs, milk and milk products (yoghurt, cheese, etc.) and are excellent sources of calcium and protein.

 5. Fruits and vegetables
It’s almost impossible to eat too many fruits and vegetables – not only should you be aiming for five portions a day, but some advice suggests it should be more like seven. Fruits and vegetables are essential for our digestion, vitamins and for a rich and varied diet.

Useful links

The Eat well Guide shows how much of what we eat overall should come from each food group to achieve a healthy, balanced diet.

Change4Life has information on foods, as well as recipes and activities.

Information and support for eating disorders from Beat