Quality Improvement

Our Aim:

Our aim over the next three years is to reduce Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust’s mortality rate to one that is below the national average, saving over 900 lives* across the Fylde Coast.​

Our Purpose:

We will be putting quality improvement at the heart of everything that we do, developing a portfolio of quality improvement projects that will help us to achieve our overall aim.

Across our hospitals and community services, our staff, patients and partners will be empowered and supported to enable high quality, safe care for all. This will be done via a new quality improvement strategy which seeks to support our aim of reducing harm and mortality.

We are committed to building a quality improvement focus and an infrastructure to support this across the organisation and our strategy builds on the great work that has already taken place at grassroots level within the organisation.

  • We will deliver a programme of quality improvement projects which will help staff make changes to provide high quality, safe and effective personal care to every patient, every time.
  • We will focus our efforts on a targeted portfolio of projects which we believe will have a significant impact on unintentional patient harm and mortality.

Our Strategy

You can read our strategy here: Quality Improvement Strategy (2019-2022).pdf​

 

Contact Us

​bfwh.qualityimprovement@nhs.net

@bthqiHub

​​

Who We are

Katharine Goldthorpe
Associate Director of Quality Improvement
katharine.goldthorpe1@nhs.net

 

Dr Paryaneh Rostami
Senior Quality Improvement Manager & Patient Safety Specialist
p.rostami@nhs.net

 

Anna Dallow
Quality Improvement Programme Manager
anna.dallow@nhs.net

 

Charlotte Power
Quality Improvement Programme Manager
charlotte.power1@nhs.net

 

Emma Wiper
Quality Improvement Programme Manager
emma.wiper@nhs.net

 

Victoria Birkett
Quality Improvement Lead
victoria.birkett1@nhs.net

 

Alex Rose
Quality Improvement Lead
alex.rose11@nhs.net

 

Michelle Chunger
Quality Improvement Project Manager
michelle.chunger@nhs.net